ACCU Awards

At each ACCU Annual Meeting, awards are presented to honor individuals who have made significant contributions to Catholic higher education through service and academic work.

Presidents: Make your nominations for 2019 awards (Word doc). Submit completed forms to Sandra Kerr-Porcari at


Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, CSC, Award

The Hesburgh Award is the oldest of ACCU’s honors, having been awarded every year since 1982, with the exception of 2005. Criteria for selection are as follows:

•  Has made outstanding contributions to Catholic higher education
•  Has rendered extended service to Catholic higher education
•  Normally has been employed at a Catholic college or university but is not currently serving as a president (unless retirement is anticipated within the current academic year)
•  Has contributed to Catholic higher education beyond service rendered to a particular institution


Monika K. Hellwig Award

The Monika K. Hellwig Award for Outstanding Contributions to Catholic Intellectual Life honors an individual who has significantly advanced Catholic intellectual life.


Presidents' Distinguished Service Award

Criteria for the Presidents’ Distinguished Service Award are as follows:

•  Personal service of exceptional quality to Catholic higher education
•  Significant promotion of Catholic higher education through public advocacy
•  Advancement of Catholic higher education through philanthropy or voluntary development activities


Complete list of past honorees




Contact Us | Members Only | Search

About ACCU

Spring Newsletter: Colleges Supporting Parishes
See Your Research Here: Journal of Catholic Higher Education
Explore Events for Leaders in Catholic Higher Ed

Follow @CatholicHighrEd on Twitter